Learning how to teach what I never was taught (…well)

PVC Pipe House

I wanted to give a versatile birthday gift that was original, made with love, and inspired imaginative play. With much research, I landed on the 1/2″ PVC pipe construction set idea. It is perfect for indoor fort building during the winter as well as water or sand play in the summer. We have made extra long telephones around the playset. The boys make swords. The girls make wands. One child even made a cube as a walking toy for my little one.

I purchased various pipe fittings and color coded them with a Sharpie Permanent marker. I cut 1/2″ pipe into 10, 20, 30, 40, and 50 centimeter increments. The pipe lengths were color coded by length using electrical tape. Eventually, we will use them for learning equivalent fractions. With a handy dandy pipe cutter, a baby asleep in the car seat and my oldest in nature class, I turned the trunk of my mini-van into a toy production workshop. It only took a few days to get enough pieces cut for both my child and the birthday gift.

Leave a Reply

